Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Only in DbVisualizer Pro

This feature is only available in the DbVisualizer Pro edition.

The Permission functionality is a security mechanism, where you can specify that certain database operations must be confirmed. You configure permissions in the Tool Properties dialog, in the Permissions category of the General tab, per connection mode (Development, Test and Production).

You specify which connection mode to use for a connection in the Properties tab of the Object View tab for the connection. By default a connection mode is specified to be Development.

The permission feature is part of DbVisualizer and does not replace the authorization system in the actual database.

For the SQL Commander, you can pick the permission mode type from a drop-down list for each SQL command:



Permission TypeDescription
AllowThis permission type means that you can run the SQL statement without any confirmation
DenyThis permission type means that the SQL statement is not executed at all.
AskThis permission type means that when executing an SQL statement, or a script of statements, the SQL Commander asks you whether the actual SQL command(s) should be executed.


Note also the Connection Permissions in Tool Properties, in the Permissions category where you can specify if DbVisualizer should launch a confirm dialog when connection to the database when running a script.  

  • No labels